Why You Should Date Your Best Friend

“I can’t.  I’m afraid it will ruin our friendship.”  Honestly, how many times have you heard someone say this?  You watch them fall in love with someone they have created a close friendship with, yet they never tell this person fearing it will ruin their friendship.  Have you said this?  Are you thinking this right now?  If so, stop.  Stop being afraid.  What if this is the person that God intended for you?  What if they’re the one?

I once had a Young Life leader that told a group of us girls that you should always date your best friend.  You see, it was a coincidence that she told us that, because I was afraid of this exact thing at the time.  I was terrified that if I started a relationship with my now boyfriend (of more than two years), that something could go wrong and I would lose the best friend I had ever had.  I remember the night she told us that like it was yesterday.  I stayed up half the night praying and letting that sink in.  By the next morning, I was most certainly exhausted, but I knew that I had to give the relationship a shot.  About a month later, we began our journey as a couple, and I don’t regret that for a single second.

I can personally say that dating your best friend is probably the best decision you will ever make (if that’s what you’re wanting), and I think anyone dating their best friend would agree with me.  You always hear that if your significant other is also your best friend, you are the luckiest person in the world.  I believe that with my whole heart.  I wasted a whole year being afraid that my relationship with my now boyfriend would be ruined by taking it from friendship to an actual relationship.  Don’t be like me.

Maybe it won’t work out.  Not all relationships do.  But… what if it does?  There’s no reason to forget the positive to only focus on the negative.  If you truly believe that you should be with this person, stop waiting.  You have to think of the friendship you have.  All the laughs, the good times, and always having someone to lean on… all of that only gets better in a relationship if it’s right.  Not only do you have all of these things, but now you have someone that could very well be your life partner.  All the love and the memories are even better when you’re sharing them with your best friend.

I thank God everyday that I get to be with my boyfriend and best friend for the rest of my life.  I can’t thank Him enough for blessing me with someone so kind, loving, and honestly hilarious.  It’s hard for me to think I almost let him get away or remain as just my best friend only a couple years ago.  If you want to be with your best friend, stop being scared.  Go for it.  It might just be everything you’ve ever wanted.  Date your best friend.

2 thoughts on “Why You Should Date Your Best Friend

Add yours

  1. I can’t imagine life without my fiance, he is my best friend 100%. I don’t have as much fun or laugh as much with anyone than I do with him. Gosh I loved this post, so glad I stumbled across it xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

